Sunday, June 27, 2021 – Final Round Recap

Sunday, June 27, 2021 – Final Round Recap

Fans waited two years to be on hand for Championship Sunday at TPC River Highlands. The 2021 Travelers Championship didn’t disappoint, giving spectators a record-setting playoff that was finally won with a birdie by Harris English.

English rolled in a 16-foot putt on the eighth playoff hole to defeat Kramer Hickok on Sunday for his fourth PGA TOUR victory. The eight playoff holes set a Travelers Championship record; twice before, in 1961 and 1962, a seven-hole playoff was needed to determine a champion.

Both English and Hickok birdied the final hole of regulation to finish at 13-under-par 267 and force the playoff. English shot a 5-under-par 65, while Hickok had a 67. Through the first six playoff holes – playing No. 18 four times and No. 17 twice – the players matched pars. But on the eighth extra hole, English finally pulled through, knocking in the birdie to win the Travelers Championship for the first time. It was his second TOUR victory of the season; he won the Sentry Tournament of Champions back in January.

For a while on Sunday, it looked like the history would be written by Bubba Watson, who was trying to become the second player to win the Travelers Championship four times. But Watson, who had a one-stroke lead on the back nine, played his final five holes in 6-over-par to fall out of the lead. Watson shot a 73 and finished in a tie for 19th.

Marc Leishman, the 2012 Travelers Championship winner, was attempting to win for the second time at TPC River Highlands, also in comeback fashion. In 2012, he erased a six-stroke deficit in the final round. This time, he began the day four shots back, but shot a bogey-free 64 to finish at 12-under, one shot behind.

Abraham Ancer shot a 65 and finished in fourth place at 11-under. Kevin Kisner had the low round of the day, shooting 63 to lead the pack at 10-under to tie for fifth.

The 2022 Travelers Championship will be June 20-26.

Share this post

Title Sponsor

Presenting Sponsors

Founding Sponsors

Titos_Abreviated_Logo 2023