HARTFORD, Conn., June 10, 2019 – The Travelers Championship today announced that Jordan Spieth has committed to play in the 2019 tournament. Spieth has 11 PGA TOUR victories in his career, including the 2017 Travelers Championship, which he won in dramatic fashion by holing out from a bunker on the first playoff hole.

“Nobody will ever forget what Jordan accomplished two years ago at TPC River Highlands,” said Travelers Championship Tournament Director Nathan Grube. “The way he won — his reaction, and the reaction from the crowd around the 18th hole — shows the type of excitement he can bring to the event. We’re thrilled that he’ll be playing this year.”

Spieth is a three-time major champion, winning the Masters and U.S. Open in 2015, then the Open Championship in 2017. He was named PGA TOUR Rookie of the Year in 2013, then won the TOUR’s Player of the Year honor in 2015, when he won five tournaments, plus the FedExCup title. Spieth spent 26 weeks as the No. 1 player in the Official World Golf Ranking.

In his last three starts, Spieth tied for third at the PGA Championship, then tied for eighth at the Charles Schwab Challenge and tied for seventh at the Memorial Tournament. This will be his third straight appearance at TPC River Highlands.

“Jordan authored one of the iconic moments in Travelers Championship and PGA TOUR history,” said Andy Bessette, Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer at Travelers. “He’s a great friend of the tournament, he’s done great things at our event and the fans will be excited to hear that he’s coming back. His presence is a fantastic addition to what promises to be an amazing tournament week.”

Spieth, former No. 1 player in the world, joins a 2019 Travelers Championship field that features commitments from the current top-ranked player in the world, Brooks Koepka, along with Francesco Molinari (No. 6), Justin Thomas (No. 7), Patrick Cantlay (No. 8), Bryson DeChambeau (No. 9), Tony Finau (No. 14), Paul Casey (No. 15), Jason Day (No. 16), Tommy Fleetwood (No. 18), defending champion Bubba Watson (No. 20), 2012 Travelers Championship winner Marc Leishman (No. 21), Louis Oosthuizen (No. 22), Patrick Reed (No. 23) and two-time winner Phil Mickelson (No. 24).

The 2019 Travelers Championship will be held June 17–23 at TPC River Highlands in Cromwell, Connecticut. For tickets and more information on this year’s tournament, visit

About the Travelers Championship
The Travelers Championship, held in Cromwell, Connecticut, is one of the premier events on the PGA TOUR and part of the FedExCup series. Named by the PGA TOUR in 2017 and 2018 as the recipient of the “Players Choice” award, the Travelers Championship proudly supports the TOUR’s Tradition of Giving Back by donating 100 percent of net proceeds to charities. Travelers, a leading provider of property and casualty insurance for auto, home and business, is the Official Property Casualty Insurance Provider of the PGA TOUR. The company became the tournament’s title sponsor in 2007. Travelers has been doing business in the Hartford community for more than 160 years and has been a corporate sponsor of this event each year since its inception in 1952. Complete details are available at


CONTACT: Tara Gerber, Travelers Championship, 860.502.6815,

Share this post

Title Sponsor

Signature Sponsor

Presenting Sponsors


Founding Partners

Titos_Abreviated_Logo 2023