Volunteer Recognition

Volunteer Recognition

The Travelers Championship and Hartford HealthCare are proud to honor and recognize outstanding volunteers not only throughout tournament week but throughout the year. Each tournament, exceptional volunteers are celebrated for their passion for volunteering through the below awards. Thanks to Hartford HealthCare, the winner of the Volunteer of the Year award receives a $2,000 donation to the charity of their choice.

2023 Volunteer of the Year

Nasreen Mustafa, Ticket Services

$2,000 Donation Charity of Choice:
UConn Asian American Cultural Centers – KUBE Program

2023 Award Winners

Executive Committee Member

Pam House, Volunteer Services

Most Charismatic

Brian Heyler, Standard Bearers

Best Team Player

Mark Rozelle, The Hole in the Wall Gang Camp Hole Captain

Rookie of the Year

Jessica Holdsworth, Fan Services

Volunteer Award Descriptions

The Volunteer of the Year award allows the tournament to recognize and celebrate a volunteer who has gone above and beyond their volunteer role and responsibilities. This individual embodies the spirit of the Travelers Championship with their passion, dedication, and commitment to the tournament. To recognize their volunteerism, Hartford HealthCare sponsors a $2,000 donation to the winner’s charity of choice.

This award is presented to the Executive Committee member whose commitment to the tournament shines throughout the entire year. This leader is an outstanding committee chairman who, through leadership, dedication, and untiring effort, excelled in their contribution to the spirit and success of the tournament.

It’s not always easy working on a team, but this individual contributes with ease. They work well with other volunteers using a range of different skills and abilities to create positive outcomes and team morale. This individual is motivating, respectful and a huge support to other volunteers. Most importantly, they always put their team ahead of themselves.

This award is given to an individual whose enthusiasm is contagious. Their dynamic drive rubs off on their team members and contributes to the committee’s overall success. Their charming spirit is noticed by whomever they are helping – a fan, player or another committee member.

This award is presented to a new volunteer who embraces their role and dives in head first! This volunteer’s eagerness and enthusiasm is evident in all of the tasks that they take on. Being a newcomer does not stop them from performing with passion.

History of Award Winners


2022 PGA TOUR Volunteer of the Year

Charles “Buddy” Buder, a volunteer celebrating 50 years of service at the Travelers Championship in Cromwell, Connecticut, was selected as the 2022 PGA TOUR Volunteer of the Year. With the award, the PGA TOUR will donate $10,000 to The Hole in the Wall Gang Camp, a longtime Travelers Championship beneficiary and the charity of Buder’s choosing. Buder was recently surprised with the honor. 

“Buddy is known and loved by everyone at the tournament,” said Nathan Grube, Executive Director of the Travelers Championship. “His enthusiasm and motivation for why he volunteers is contagious. Not only does he represent what is so amazing about the volunteers on the PGA TOUR, he is always trying to recruit the next generation of volunteers as well. He knows how rewarding it is and wants everyone to experience it. We are a better event because of Buddy, and we look forward to his 51st year in 2023.” 

“Being a volunteer allows us to not only be in the presence of the finest players in the world on the PGA TOUR, but to help generate millions of dollars for charities around New England like The Hole in the Wall Gang Camp. I am so glad to be among the charmed circle of volunteers. Although we work different tournaments throughout the TOUR season, our commitment is the same – to help raise money for the many worthy charities throughout the world. I am very honored to have been chosen to receive this prestigious award,” said Buder. 

Title Sponsor

Signature Sponsor

Presenting Sponsors


Founding Partners

Titos_Abreviated_Logo 2023