HARTFORD, Conn., June 13, 2014 – The Travelers Championship has granted sponsor’s exemptions to four young, rising golf stars, as Patrick Rodgers, Cameron Wilson, Oliver Goss, and Bobby Wyatt will all join the 2014 tournament player field from June 16 to 22. Rodgers, Wilson, Goss, and Wyatt are expected to make their professional debuts at the Travelers Championship. These four exemptions demonstrate the Travelers Championship’s ongoing commitment to bringing top young players to Connecticut each year. Since 2007, top players like Webb Simpson, Rickie Fowler, Ryo Ishikawa, Kyle Stanley, Morgan Hoffmann, Patrick Cantlay and more have been granted exemptions by the tournament.

“Year after year, it is very exciting to issue our sponsor’s exemptions to some of the best, young talent in the sport of golf, and this year in particular with Patrick, Cameron, Oliver, and Bobby,” said Travelers Championship Tournament Director Nathan Grube. “This is a great group of young golfers with tremendous talent. We’re thrilled to have these emerging stars playing in the Travelers Championship.”

“At Travelers, we believe it is important to give people the opportunity to be successful,” said Andy Bessette, executive vice president and chief administrative officer of Travelers. “We invested in the future of the Travelers Championship by agreeing to a long-term title sponsorship, and providing a sponsor’s exemption to these great, young players, is one more way that we are building upon the strength and future of the tournament.”

Patrick Rodgers is the No. 1 ranked amateur golfer in the world. The Stanford University junior recently won the Jack Nicklaus award for being the nation’s top Division I golfer. He also won the 2014 Ben Hogan Award, given annually to the top men’s player in college and amateur events in the last year (top professionals like Hunter Mahan, Bill Haas, Fowler and Stanley have won the award in the past) and the 2014 Haskins Award, which is presented annually by the Haskins Commission to honor the most outstanding collegiate golfer in the United States. Rodgers has been a star during his three years at Stanford and has been named first team All-American by the College Golf Association of America every year. In the 2014 season, he had six first-place finishes in 12 events. The Travelers Championship also granted Rodgers a sponsor’s exemption in 2012.

Connecticut native and Stanford University senior Cameron Wilson has had a very successful college career. On May 30, he won the NCAA individual title and is the first Stanford player to do so since Tiger Woods in 1996. He is also the first golfer from Connecticut to win a Division I NCAA individual title. He is currently the No. 5 ranked amateur golfer in the world. He was a finalist for the 2014 Ben Hogan Award and semi-finalist for the 2014 Byron Nelson award, presented to the most outstanding senior in college golf.

Oliver Goss just completed his sophomore year at the University of Tennessee and is currently the No. 14 ranked amateur golfer in the world. Last summer, he finished as the runner-up in the 2013 U.S. Amateur at The Country Club in Brookline, Mass. His runner-up finish earned him an invitation to the 2014 Masters, where he was awarded the Silver Cup for finishing as the low amateur. In 2013, his performance earned him spots on the Global All-Amateur First Team and the All-SEC First Team. In just two seasons at University of Tennessee, Goss has compiled a 71.88 stroke average in 19 tournaments while winning two of them.

Bobby Wyatt recently completed his senior year at The University of Alabama. He most recently helped the Crimson Tide win its second consecutive NCAA title, and his performance included a hole-in-one on the second hole at Prairie Dunes. Wyatt was selected to the 2013 Walker Cup where he was the top scorer and helped lead the United States to victory over Great Britain and Ireland. He was also a medalist at the 2012 U.S. Amateur.

Rodgers, Wilson, Goss, and Wyatt join the one of the strongest fields in Travelers Championship history. The field already includes top golfers such as Bubba Watson, Matt Kuchar, Jason Day, Sergio Garcia, Dustin Johnson, Zach Johnson, Keegan Bradley, Jonas Blixt, Hunter Mahan, Marc Leishman, Angel Cabrera and reigning champion Ken Duke. Tickets for the tournament, which will take place from June 16 to 22 at TPC River Highlands in Cromwell, Conn., are on sale now at

Share this post

Title Sponsor

Presenting Sponsors

Founding Sponsors

Titos_Abreviated_Logo 2023