HARTFORD, Conn., April 20, 2010 – Travelers Championship officials today announced four additional commitments to this year’s tournament including Vijay Singh, Chad Campbell, Justin Rose and David Toms. The announcement came during media day festivities at TPC River Highlands, which included a press conference with defending champion Kenny Perry who has already committed to the 2010 Travelers Championship field.

“We are excited to announce another wave of early commitments and add these four names to our field for 2010,” said Travelers Championship Tournament Director Nathan Grube. “The reputation of our tournament with the players continues to grow, and we are very excited that these players have circled our event on their playing calendar.”

The 2008 FedExCup champion and PGA TOUR’s second all-time money winner, Vijay Singh has won 34 tournaments including three majors – two PGA Championships (1998, 2004) and the 2000 Masters. Last season, Singh made 15 of 21 cuts and finished in the top 10 on three different occasions. In 2010, Singh’s best finish has been tied for fourth at the Honda Classic.

Four-time PGA TOUR winner Chad Campbell has made seven of 10 cuts this year, finishing eighth at the Sony Open in Hawaii. He had a strong 2009, as he finished tied for second at the 2009 Masters and made 19 of 26 cuts throughout last year. In 2008, Campbell was a Captain’s pick for the victorious Ryder Cup team.

Twelve-time PGA TOUR winner and three-time Ryder Cup member David Toms has made six of eight cuts in 2010, with his best finish being a tie for 14th at The Masters. In 2009 Toms posted seven top-10 finishes.

Justin Rose, a five-time winner internationally, is currently 30th on the 2010 FedExCup standings. Rose finished third at The Honda Classic in February where he tied the course record with a 64 in his final round. Rose was a member of the 2008 European Ryder Cup team and won the 2007 Order of Merit on the European Tour.

Singh, Rose, Campbell and Toms join Kenny Perry and a group of previously committed players including Stewart Cink, Hunter Mahan, Rickie Fowler, Anthony Kim and Stuart Appleby.

“Travelers is committed to solidifying this tournament as one of the best events on the PGA TOUR and to delivering the most enjoyable experience possible for the players and their families,” said Andy Bessette, Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer of Travelers. “We’re pleased that these 10 players will be part of that experience this summer and we look forward to welcoming them to the Travelers Championship.”

The Travelers Championship is the PGA TOUR’s only early summer stop in the Northeast and will be held June 21 – 27, 2010, at TPC River Highlands in Cromwell, Conn. A complete schedule of tournament events and ticket information is available at

Share this post

Title Sponsor

Presenting Sponsors

Founding Sponsors