GROTON, Conn., May 28, 2010 – From the Historic Ship Nautilus at the Submarine Force Library & Museum in Groton, Conn., Travelers Championship officials today announced the addition of Military Appreciation for the 2010 tournament. Presented by Saint Francis Hospital and Medical Center, this new initiative will be a weeklong salute to the country’s military personnel.

“We are extremely excited about this opportunity,” said Travelers Championship Tournament Director Nathan Grube. “Our tournament is committed to recognizing the brave men and women who have served our country, and Military Appreciation will showcase our new and exciting activities to honor the military.”

Accompanying tournament officials at the press conference was Rear Admiral Michael E. McLaughlin, who will be the Honorary Military Appreciation Representative for the weeklong initiative. McLaughlin, commander of Submarine Group Two, is responsible for 27 fast-attack submarines on the East Coast, including the newly commissioned Virginia class submarine USS New Mexico. He is a 1981 graduate of the United States Naval Academy and commanded the USS La Jolla (SSN 701) and Submarine Squadron 11.

“The service members today from Connecticut and beyond wear the uniform proudly,” said Rear Admiral McLaughlin. “They are our neighbors, friends, and family members who volunteer to wear the uniform and go into harm’s way when our nation calls. On their behalf, I would like to thank this organization for recognizing and appreciating what they do.”

The tournament will offer free admission to all active, reserve and retired military service members and their dependents throughout the week. In addition, all active, reserve and retired military personnel, as well as all U.S. veterans, will have complimentary access to a special military hospitality venue, the Patriots’ Outpost. This new venue, located between holes no. 1 and no. 18, will give the country’s armed forces a place to relax, enjoy complimentary food and beverages, and share in the camaraderie of their peers.

“Travelers is committed to supporting the communities in which we do business and what better way to do that then to honor the individuals who serve and protect our nation,” said Andy Bessette, executive vice president and chief administrative officer of Travelers. “We’re delighted to have such a decorated serviceman as Rear Admiral McLaughlin representing this tournament and we welcome all military personnel to the Travelers Championship.”

Tickets are available now at or by calling the tournament box office at 1-866-840-8821. All active, reserve and retired military service members and their dependents can order complimentary tickets online with the promotional code MILITARY2010 and will be provided with an electronic ticket via email. All military personnel will need to present a valid Common Access Card or retired ID at the gate during tournament week with their e-ticket. U.S. veterans can purchase special discounted tickets for $20 with the promotional code VETERAN2010, and 50 percent of each ticket sold will be donated to Birdies for the Brave, a PGA TOUR Charities, Inc. program that supports the country’s armed forces.

Tournament officials also announced today three PGA TOUR players were added to the field for the 2010 Travelers Championship – Rocco Mediate, Matt Kuchar and Bubba Watson.

Five-time PGA TOUR winner and 2008 U.S. Open runner-up Rocco Mediate will be making his 13th trip to the Travelers Championship with his best finish coming in 1990 when he finished tied for second.

Matt Kuchar is currently 11th on the 2010 FedExCup standings and has finished in the top-15 on five different occasions, including a tie for second at the Bob Hope Classic and a pair of third place finishes at the SBS Championship and the World Golf Championships-CA Championship.

Bubba Watson, currently 31st in the 2010 FedExCup standings has notched three top-15 finishes this year, including a tie for second at the Bob Hope Classic and a third place finish at the Transitions Championship.

They will join already committed players Vijay Singh, Hunter Mahan, Stewart Cink, Kenny Perry, Stuart Appleby, John Daly, Rickie Fowler and more. The Travelers Championship is the PGA TOUR’s only early summer stop in the Northeast and will be held June 21 – 27, 2010, at TPC River Highlands in Cromwell, Conn. A complete schedule of tournament events and ticket information is available at

Share this post

Title Sponsor

Signature Sponsor

Presenting Sponsors


Founding Partners

Titos_Abreviated_Logo 2023