Tournament’s only repeat champion recently became golf’s oldest major winner

HARTFORD, Conn., June 10, 2021 – The Travelers Championship today announced that Phil Mickelson, a member of the World Golf Hall of Fame who last month became the oldest player to win a major championship, has committed to play in the 2021 tournament. Among Mickelson’s 45 career PGA TOUR victories are two in Connecticut, where he won at TPC River Highlands in 2001 and 2002. Mickelson is the only player in tournament history to win in consecutive years.

“Phil has cemented his place among the very best to ever play the game of golf, and we are excited to have him join us this year,” said Travelers Championship Tournament Director Nathan Grube. “He’s been a fan favorite around the world for decades, winning every step of the way and thrilling spectators with his play and accomplishments. This is fantastic news for this year’s tournament.”

Last month in South Carolina, the 50-year-old Mickelson won the PGA Championship for his sixth major title. In addition to being the oldest player to win a major championship, he’s also the last amateur to win a PGA TOUR event. He captured the first of his 45 TOUR titles at the 1991 Northern Telecom Open as a 20-year-old Arizona State University student – an early indication of the consistency and excellence that has defined his career.

Mickelson has won the Masters three times (2004, 2006, 2010), triumphed at the Open Championship in 2013 and won the PGA Championship in 2005. He is tied for eighth on the TOUR’s all-time wins list. Mickelson has also represented the United States in 26 team events: He holds the record for the most Ryder Cup and Presidents Cup appearances (12 each) and was a member of the Walker Cup team in 1989 and 1991. Mickelson was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2012.

“When a lot of fans think about golf, they think of Phil Mickelson, and I know they’ll be rooting hard for him again at TPC River Highlands,” said Andy Bessette, Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer at Travelers. “Winning the PGA Championship at 50 is a tremendous accomplishment. I know Phil is excited to return to Connecticut and play in front of the fans who have always supported him.”

Spectators will be permitted on-site for this year’s tournament starting Wednesday, June 23. All tickets must be purchased in advance, and there will be no tickets available at the gate. For information and tournament updates, visit

Mickelson joins a player field that includes defending champion Dustin Johnson, Bryson DeChambeau, Patrick Cantlay, Brooks Koepka, Patrick Reed, Tony Finau, Paul Casey, Justin Rose, Marc Leishman, Bubba Watson and Rickie Fowler. The 2021 Travelers Championship will be held June 21-27 at TPC River Highlands in Cromwell, Connecticut.

About the Travelers Championship
The Travelers Championship, held in Cromwell, Connecticut, is one of the premier events on the PGA TOUR and part of the FedExCup series. The tournament proudly supports the TOUR’s Tradition of Giving Back by donating 100% of net proceeds to charities. Travelers, a leading provider of property and casualty insurance for auto, home and business, is the Official Property Casualty Insurance Provider of the PGA TOUR. The company became the tournament’s title sponsor in 2007. Travelers has been doing business in the Hartford community for more than 160 years and has been a corporate sponsor of this event each year since its inception in 1952. Complete details are available at


Tara Gerber, Travelers Championship

Share this post

Title Sponsor

Presenting Sponsors

Founding Sponsors

Titos_Abreviated_Logo 2023