HARTFORD, Conn., April 24, 2018 – The Travelers Championship today announced that Jim Furyk, Zach Johnson and Bryson DeChambeau have committed to play in the 2018 tournament.

“It’s exciting to see some of the top PGA TOUR professionals continue to commit to our tournament,” said Travelers Championship Tournament Director Nathan Grube. “Jim, Zach and Bryson all bring an incredible level of talent to our field, which continues to get better year after year.”

Jim Furyk set the PGA TOUR scoring record when he shot a 12-under-par 58 in the final round of the 2016 Travelers Championship. It led to a T5 finish, one of two times Furyk finished in the top five at TPC River Highlands. Furyk, a 47-year-old from Pennsylvania, has won 17 times on the PGA TOUR, including the 2003 U.S. Open. After playing on nine Ryder Cup teams, Furyk will captain the U.S. side this year when the matches are held in France.

Zach Johnson is a 12-time TOUR winner. His most recent victory was at the 2015 British Open, where he beat Marc Leishman and Louis Oosthuizen in a playoff at St. Andrews. Johnson, 42, won his first major championship in 2007 at the Masters. Johnson has made the cut in all 11 stroke-play starts this season, with seven top-25 finishes. His best finish at the Travelers Championship was T3 in 2004. Johnson has also appeared on five Ryder Cup and four Presidents Cup teams.

Bryson DeChambeau is in his second full season on the PGA TOUR. He broke through at the 2017 John Deere Classic for his first TOUR victory. The 24-year-old has four top-10 finishes this season, including second place at the Arnold Palmer Invitational and a T3 at the RBC Heritage. Besides his early success on the PGA TOUR, DeChambeau in 2015 captured the U.S. Amateur and NCAA Championship. He became the fifth player to win both events in the same year, joining Jack Nicklaus, Phil Mickelson, Tiger Woods and Ryan Moore. This will be DeChambeau’s third appearance at the Travelers Championship.

Furyk, Johnson and DeChambeau join a player field that already includes 2018 Masters champion Patrick Reed, Rory McIlroy, Justin Thomas, Bubba Watson, Paul Casey and Charley Hoffman. The 2018 Travelers Championship will be held June 18-24, and tickets are available. For more information on this year’s tournament, visit www.TravelersChampionship.com.

About the Travelers Championship

The Travelers Championship, held in Cromwell, Connecticut, is one of the premier events on the PGA TOUR and part of the FedExCup series. Named by the PGA TOUR as the 2017 “Tournament of the Year,” the Travelers Championship proudly supports the TOUR’s Tradition of Giving Back by donating 100 percent of net proceeds to charities. Travelers, a leading provider of property and casualty insurance for home, auto and business, is the Official Property Casualty Insurance Provider of the PGA TOUR. The company became the tournament’s title sponsor in 2007. Travelers has been doing business in the Hartford community for more than 160 years and has been a corporate sponsor of this event each year since its inception in 1952. Complete details are available at www.TravelersChampionship.com. 


Share this post

Title Sponsor

Presenting Sponsors

Founding Sponsors

Titos_Abreviated_Logo 2023