HARTFORD, Conn., May 3, 2010 – Travelers Championship officials today announced eight additional early commitments to this year’s tournament. Previous winners of the Travelers Championship, J.J. Henry and Brad Faxon, as well as fan favorites Billy Andrade, Steve Elkington, Jerry Kelly, Jay Williamson, Ricky Barnes and John Daly have officially committed to 2010 Travelers Championship tournament field.

“We are pleased to announce these great players to our field for 2010,” said Tournament Director Nathan Grube. “Our fans have established a great following for these players and we are excited to welcome them back to Connecticut for another run at the Travelers Championship title.”

2006 Travelers Championship winner J.J. Henry will be making his 12th apperance to TPC River Highlands. Henry is a Fairfield, Conn. native who has finished in the top-25 at the Travelers Championship on three seperate occasions. He has made eight of 11 cuts in 2010, with his best finish being a tie for seventh at the Quail Hollow Championship this past weekend.

Brad Faxon, winner of the 2005 Travelers Championship, has earned eight career victories on the PGA TOUR. Faxon missed most of 2008 with reconstructive knee surgery, but he posted his first top-50 finish in over three years this past weekend at the 2010 Quail Hollow Championship. Faxon will be making his 26th appearance to the event, which is tied for the most appearances by a player.

Billy Andrade has four career victories on the PGA TOUR and will be making his 23rd trip to Connecticut’s PGA TOUR event. Andrade’s best career finish at TPC River Highlands came in 2001 when he finished second behind Phil Mickelson. Along with Brad Faxon, he runs the CVS Charity Classic in Rhode Island, which generated more than $1 million for charity in 2009.

Ten-time PGA TOUR winner and major champion Steve Elkington has made four of eight cuts in 2010, with his best finish being a tie for seventh at the Puerto Rico Open presented by Banco Popular. Elkington will be making his 12th visit to the Travelers Championship with his best finish coming in 2008 where he finished tied for 27th.

University of Hartford alum Jerry Kelly has three career victories on the PGA TOUR and finished 22nd overall in the 2009 FedExCup standings. Kelly has made nine of 11 cuts in 2010, with his best finish being a tie for 12th at The Masters.

Jay Williamson, a Trinity College graduate will be making his 14th appearance at the Travelers Championship, with his best finish being in 2007 when he lost in a playoff to Hunter Mahan. Williamson made 14 of 22 cuts in 2009 and earned fully exempt status on the PGA TOUR in 2010 through PGA TOUR Qualifying School.

Currently ranking 30th in the FedExCup standings, Ricky Barnes has earned three top-10 finishes in 2010, with his best finish being a tie for fifth at the Verizon Heritage in mid-April. Barnes’ best finish on the PGA TOUR came at the 2009 U.S. Open where he finished second and he continued his strong play in major championships with a tie for 10th during this year’s Masters Tournament. He will be making his second trip to TPC River Highlands this summer.

Five-time PGA TOUR winner and two-time major champion John Daly will be making his 10th visit to the Travelers Championship. Daly has made five of eight cuts in 2010, with his best finish being a tie for 24th at the Puerto Rico Open presented by Banco Popular.

These eight players join a rapidly growing player field that already includes Kenny Perry, Stewart Cink, Hunter Mahan, Vijay Singh, Anthony Kim, Rickie Fowler, Chad Campbell, Justin Rose, David Toms and Stuart Appleby. The Travelers Championship is the PGA TOUR’s only early summer stop in the Northeast and will be held June 21 – 27, 2010, at TPC River Highlands in Cromwell, Conn. For tickets, a complete player field list and additional tournament information, visit www.TravelersChampionship.com.

Share this post

Title Sponsor

Presenting Sponsors

Founding Sponsors

Titos_Abreviated_Logo 2023