CROMWELL, CONN., June 24, 2015 – The third day of the 2015 Travelers Championship was packed with fun events for the whole family to enjoy. The day began with the fan-favorite Travelers Celebrity Pro-Am, which pairs PGA TOUR Professionals and celebrities from entertainment, sports, and media with amateur golfers. This year’s participants included actor and comedian George Lopez; television host Matt Lauer; former Red Sox pitcher Tim Wakefield; professional skateboarder Ryan Sheckler; and famed ESPN sportscaster Chris Berman, amongst others. Several notable members of the University of Connecticut Division of Athletics—Geno Auriemma, Jim Calhoun, Mike Cavanaugh, Warde Manuel, and Chris Dailey—joined 2015 Pro-Am field as well.

Between the Pro-Am tee times, local and national celebrities from the media also played in the FML CPAS Celebrity Mini Golf Tournament. The tournament, which took place in the MetroHartford Alliance Fan Zone, pitted teams of three against one another for a total prize of $5,000 to be donated to the charity of their choice. WTNH NEWS 8 won the first wave, winning for the Raymond Dobratz Scholarship Fund. NBC 30 won the second wave, their prize benefitted Make-a-Wish CT.

The winner of The Umbrella at 15 ½ contest was announced on Wednesday afternoon. Of the 88 players who attempted the challenge, Graham DeLaet landed his shot nearest to the pin, falling a record two inches from the hole. The pin sits on a floating green in the shape of the iconic Travelers red umbrella logo in the pond between the 15th, 16th, and 17th holes.   On behalf of DeLaet, Travelers will donate $10,000 to the Graham and Ruby DeLaet Foundation.

Share this post

Title Sponsor

Presenting Sponsors

Founding Sponsors

Titos_Abreviated_Logo 2023