

CONTACT:
Tara Gerber
Travelers Championship
860-502-6815
tgerber@travelerschampionship.com

## TRAVELERS CHAMPIONSHIP ADDS FIVE MAJOR WINNERS TO PLAYER FIELD

## Ernie Els, Zach Johnson, Keegan Bradley, Louis Oosthuizen, and Padraig Harrington Commit to Play 2015 Tournament

**CROMWELL, Conn., May 12, 2015 –** The Travelers Championship today announced that five major winners – Ernie Els, Zach Johnson, Keegan Bradley, Louis Oosthuizen, and Padraig Harrington – have committed to play in the 2015 Travelers Championship. These players join top golfers Bubba Watson, Jason Day, Sergio Garcia, Brandt Snedeker, Hunter Mahan, and reigning champion Kevin Streelman in the 2015 field, which includes three of the top 10 players in the Official World Golf Rankings (OWGR).

"We're excited to add these talented players to the growing field for the 2015 Travelers Championship," said Travelers Championship Tournament Director Nathan Grube. "Adding this group of players to those who are already committed will undoubtedly build excitement with golf fans throughout the region."

**Ernie Els** is one of the game's biggest stars of the modern golf era. A 2011 inductee into the World Golf Hall of Fame, Els has won 70 times worldwide throughout his career including four major championships, 19 PGA TOUR victories, and 28 European Tour victories. Els has been a part of eight International Presidents Cup teams compiling an overall record of 20-18-2. He has played some of his best golf in major championships, where he has 31 top-10 finishes to go along with his four victories. Els is currently ranked No. 86 in the OWGR. This will be Els' first appearance at the tournament since 2002.

Travelers Championship regular **Zach Johnson** is one of the game's most consistent players. He currently ranks No. 25 in the OWGR, and No. 58 in the FedExCup. This year will mark his 10<sup>th</sup> appearance at the tournament in the last 12 years. Johnson has 11 TOUR wins – including a win at the 2007 Masters – and has 61 top-10 finishes throughout his career. He is off to a strong start in the 2015 season with four top-10 finishes in 12 events.

2011 PGA Championship winner and New England-native **Keegan Bradley** will be making his fifth straight appearance at the Travelers Championship. He is currently ranked No. 36 in the OWGR and No. 69 in the FedExCup. Bradley has two top-10 finishes this season, giving him a total of 24 top-10 finishes since turning pro in 2008.

**Louis Oosthuizen** is currently No. 27 in OWGR and No. 65 in the FedExCup. He'll be playing the Travelers Championship for just the second time. He has four top-10 finishes in seven events already this season. Oosthuizen adds to the list of major winners playing the Travelers Championship, as he won the British Open in 2010 by seven strokes.

**Padraig Harrington** is currently ranked No. 46 in the FedExCup and No. 82 in the OWGR. His most recent victory was at this year's Honda Classic, and his storied career includes three major championships, six total PGA TOUR victories, and 53 top-10 finishes. He's become a mainstay at TPC River Highlands as this will be his fifth appearance in the last six years.

The Travelers Championship will take place from June 22 to 28 at TPC River Highlands in Cromwell, Conn. Tickets are on sale now at <a href="https://www.TravelersChampionship.com">www.TravelersChampionship.com</a>.





## ###

## **About the Travelers Championship**

As the first PGA TOUR event of the season in the Northeast, the Travelers Championship is one of the region's premier sporting events. The tournament proudly supports the PGA TOUR's Tradition of Giving Back by donating 100 percent of net proceeds to charities. Travelers, a leading provider of property casualty insurance for home, auto, and business, is the Official Property Casualty Insurance Provider of the PGA TOUR and became the tournament's title sponsor in 2007. The company has been doing business in the community for more than 150 years and has been a corporate sponsor of this event each year since its inception in 1952. Complete details are available on www.TravelersChampionship.com.



