

CONTACT:
Scott Dolch
Travelers Championship
860-502-6808
sdolch@TravelersChampionship.com

MATT KUCHAR, CHARL SCHWARTZEL, CARL PETTERSSON, SEAN O'HAIR AND J.J. HENRY COMMIT TO THE 2012 TRAVELERS CHAMPIONSHIP

Reigning PLAYERS Champion and 2011 Masters Champion to Play TPC River Highlands

HARTFORD, Conn., May 23, 2012 – The Travelers Championship is adding five top golfers to its tournament field, as Matt Kuchar, Charl Schwartzel, Carl Pettersson, Sean O'Hair and J.J. Henry have officially committed to compete at TPC River Highlands from June 18 to 24.

"We are pleased to have these five great players join an already strong field," said Travelers Championship Tournament Director Nathan Grube. "These golfers have all had tremendous success throughout their careers and bring competitiveness, and excitement to this year's event. Our tournament field continues to get stronger and bring the best golf to our fans."

Reigning PLAYERS Champion **Matt Kuchar** will be making his seventh appearance at the Travelers Championship and first since 2008. Kuchar is having another stellar season, making the cut in all 11 events he has played, while earning five top-10 and nine top-25 finishes. Along with his recent PLAYERS Championship win, Kuchar also earned a T3 at this year's Masters Tournament. The four-time TOUR winner is currently No. 5 in the Official World Golf Rankings and No. 6 in the FedExCup rankings.

Charl Schwartzel is making his second appearance at the Travelers Championship and first since 2005. Best known for winning the 2011 Masters Tournament, the South African has played just six TOUR events this season. In those few tournaments, he has still managed to earn two top-5s and three top 25s, including a T4 at the World Golf Championships-Cadillac Championship in March. Schwartzel officially joined the TOUR last year, where he made the cut in all 15 events he entered, and notched 10 top 25s. Currently, Schwartzel is No. 16 in the Official World Golf Rankings.

Carl Pettersson has two career top-25 finishes at the Travelers Championship and will be making his seventh appearance. The Swede has had a strong year, earning his fifth career TOUR win at the RBC Heritage, and two second place finishes at both the Sony Open and the Shell Houston Open. He has four total top-10s this year and is currently No. 7 in the FedExCup Rankings.

Making his third appearance at the Travelers Championship, **Sean O'Hair** will look to build on an already illustrious career. The 2005 PGA TOUR Rookie of the Year has four TOUR victories, 28 top-10 finishes, more than \$16 million in career earnings and was a member of the winning 2009 U.S. Presidents Cup team. This season, he has three top-25 finishes, including a T2 at the Sony Open.

2006 Travelers Championship winner and Connecticut native **J.J. Henry** will be making his 14th appearance at TPC River Highlands this summer. Henry is coming off his best finish of the year, where he finished T3 at last weekend's HP Byron Nelson Championship.

These five players join a noteworthy field, including defending champion Fredrik Jacobson, Masters champion Bubba Watson, Hunter Mahan, Webb Simpson, Keegan Bradley, Padraig Harrington, Ian Poulter, Zach Johnson, Patrick Cantlay and many others. The Travelers Championship will be held June 18 to 24 at TPC River Highlands in Cromwell, Conn. Tournament tickets are on sale now at www.travelersChampionship.com.

###





About the Travelers Championship

As the only PGA TOUR event in the Northeast in early summer, the Travelers Championship is one of the region's premier sporting events. The tournament proudly supports the PGA TOUR Tradition of Giving Back by donating 100 percent of net proceeds to charities. The event is sponsored by Travelers, a leading provider of property casualty insurance for home, auto and business. Travelers has been doing business in the community for more than 150 years, and today has more than 7,000 employees in Connecticut. The Official Property Casualty Insurance Provider of the PGA TOUR, Travelers has been a sponsor of this event each year since its inception in 1952, becoming title sponsor in 2007. Complete details are available on www.travelersChampionship.com.



